Liljeholmen: A Quiet Surprise

“Never, “for the sake of peace and quiet,
deny your own experience or convictions”-Dag Hammarskjöld
Philipians 4:6-7


For every traveller they will tell you that every trip is different regardless if it’s your fist time, or you have visited a specific location multiple times. At this point in my trip I had genuinely come to the realisation, that my experience of Stockholm was different from the average traveller to this part of Europe. Especially the ones in their twenties.
Don’t get me wrong the Friday prior, I had experienced great music with great DJs in the company of some great and dance floor ready girlfriends. (shout out ladies) But even in the midst of that I experienced a soul shattering stillness in this city that made me fall in love with this place. In a teenage crush kind of way. You know when you think about it all the time but aren’t quite ready to commit?.
And the fact that I could drink tap water here was a plus-I feel a ‘reasons I love Sweden’ list coming to me.

I have already mentioned that this trip was kind of impromptu (in my first post). and I didn’t really know what I was looking for, and I’m not even sure if I found it.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Flying into Sweden I saw strikingly beautiful landscapes and scenery that made me confident that ‘Narnia’ is hidden somewhere in there.
GREEN EVERYWHERE. Mountains, lakes and clouds or was it snow? I wasn’t too sure from that high of a view, and endless arrays of trees. At first I thought oh dear I did not pack forest friendly. But then again I had zero expectations on this trip and was merely just happy to be able to see my friend again. Do not underestimate the power of ‘Girl talk,’ ‘Chica chit chat’ -or whatever you want to call it,- Its been uplifting female souls since B.C!

Entry towards Lake  Trekanten
Entry towards Lake Trekanten

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

A late afternoon stroll with the same friend, to prevent us from going into a food coma, turned into a visual escape. I’m sure calories were burned in the process, but in this beautiful and serene location huddled in the suburbs of south west Stockholm. Liljeholmen,despite being extremely close to the city centre has managed to capture and maintain the core of its beauty whilst merging and incorporating with modern Stockholm.

What I loved most, similarly to Gamla Stan was how Lake Trekanten and the beauty of its natural surroundings only complimented the modern apartments and offices built around the lake. Creating a community of locals you can easily spot in restaurants, some even located at the bottom of apartment buildings. It’s also the perfect location of outdoor exercise enthusiasts you can see jogging,and walking around the lake and on the nearby trail that leads upwards and towards ‘Nybohov’ a bridge that runs beside a rail track that goes beyond the city.
But as I said, my friend and I were strolling. You are in no way entitled to break into a jog no matter how many of them there are, and boy are there many.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Typical. I don’t know what it is about being on high ground that calls for reflection. Ignoring the pain in our feet, and the weight of our heavy lunch still in our stomachs we walked on as we had now reached the bridge, and made our way across it.
All of a sudden questions such as “What do you want to be when you grow up?” started flying out of my mouth. For crying out loud I’m 22 you would think I had a clue.  My friend immediately responded with “I want to be successful you?” I jokingly referenced to a previous conversation we had had and said I wanted to be a yellow power ranger.
And there you have it. The spirit of twenty something’s summed up. Determination to achieve, and belief that we will become what we know we were meant to be. But ill be damned if I ever have to change and let go of my child-like beliefs because they still make sense!

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Trail towards ‘Nybohov’ view
Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Trail towards ‘Nybohov’ view

We made our way back down again towards the other side of the lake, and on towards Hornstull (Another amazing great location to visit) station to make our way home. All the while underestimating the quiet surprise that spoke volumes and left a resounding impression on my definition of solitude.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
View from Nybohov

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
View from the other side of the lake
Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset
Hornstull Station

Liljeholmen. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

